Some people think that mental strength is the most important factor of success in sports. However, some others believe that it is more important to have strong and fit people.

Controversy still thrives upon whether mentality or physique is the ultimate component attributing to success in sports. Both factors demonstrate advantages of similar significance, therefore I believe mental prowess and physical fitness play important roles in equal measure. On the one hand, the most primary force behind victorious sportsmen is indeed a robust body figure. Sport contests, at their core, are competition of raw physical abilities, requiring each competitor to bring out the best performance in terms of strength, agility, durability in order to pull off a victory. Games of soccer illustrate this point evidently. Besides demonstrating skills and precision, players also have to exert superior speed to outrun opponents, strength to overcome collision, and stamina to hold their grounds throughout the long game. Physique additionally plays a crucial role in supporting sportsmen’s skills. With appropriate physical properties, players will have an upper hand in performing certain movements and abilities. In the case of basketball players, individuals with exceptional height or jumping power have a greater advantage when carrying out dunks. On the other hand, mental prowess’s contribution to sports successes is not to be understated. While physical capability deals with visible struggles during sport matches, the mind focuses on tackling more ambiguous yet equally tedious nerve-cracking issues. Crowd pressure, for instance, is a force to be reckoned with as the audience’s expectations and criticism can produce detrimental impact on players’ morale. A tought mentality will help players resist such extrinsic pressure and stay grounded in the game. Outside of the official match, mental strength comes into effect to keep sportsmen constantly motivated. Throughout preparation for a game, athletes have to tackle a plethora of stress, from having to adhere to a strict training and diet routine, internal worry of failure, and pressure coming from the intimidation of opposing teams. Thus, without a stable mentality, sportsmen are likely to collapse both mentally and physically from excessive tensions. In conclusion, mental strength and physical capability are equally pivotal components for sport accomplishments. Athletes in pursuit of victories should develop both of these factors in order to ensure their chances of success.