Some people think that men and women should have the same rights when they want to join the police or the army. Others believe that these are not the right kinds of jobs for women. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The issue of gender disparity has relevance and huge social impact nowadays. On the one hand, men and women have an equal right to serve in the army or police, however, some people may advocate that women should be banned from army circles. Personally I believe that there is no gender difference in terms of this matter and tend to agree with the former. One argues that males and females are equal, therefore it would be fair to enable women to join the police or army. It is proved that, having gone through special training, women are able to do the same work as men, maintain the same level of endurance or even demonstrate higher results. Thus, it is unreasonable to refuse women the right to be a part of the military. On the other hand, some people believe that women are physically weak and should be engaged in other activities, for instance, marriage or household duties. An average woman is considered to be smaller and shorter than an average man, which, according to some individuals, is a reason for women not doing physically exhausting labor. Nevertheless, from my perspective, women should be offered a right to join the military and decide their future on their own. I believe it is not up to the masses to make a decision about the personal or professional life of other people, and women should be in charge of their own life. Through rigorous training, even a physically weak woman may improve her strength. To sum up, while women are on average weaker than men, there are still myriads of females who are physically and mentally prepared for the hardships of the military. The decision of whether join the army should be made by females.