Distance learning via the internet has developed to such an extent in recent years that teachers and classrooms seem outdated and unnecessary. Schools, colleges and universities should abandon traditional methods and deliver all their courses online. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The burgeoning number of distance learning courses available on the internet has led some people to speculate that the future of education is online. However, enthusiasm for this mode of learning is not universal, and many people feel that the limitations of online education mean that it should never replace traditional classroom teaching altogether. Advocates of online learning argue that the replacement of conventional classroom-based learning with wholly online courses would bring both pedagogical and practical benefits. It is claimed, for example, that such courses would allow students to organize their study program and set the pace of their learning to suit themselves. In addition, they would be able to concentrate and work more easily in the comfort of their own homes. It is also argued that online tutors would be able to provide students with far more individual attention than is possible in conventional classroom situations. Finally, it is often suggested that education providers would benefit because they could run online courses at a fraction of the cost of employing classroom teachers and operating premises. Despite these potential benefits, skeptics give equally convincing reasons why this new educational trend should not be allowed to replace classrooms and teachers entirely. Firstly, it is generally agreed that the best learning takes place in environments where students work face-to-face in groups, sharing ideas would not be possible over the internet. Secondly, a requirement of online learning is familiarity with computers and computer software, but not everyone feels comfortable using this technology. If courses were only available online, students who are not so at using computers would be severely disadvantaged. Finally, many courses involve hands-on practical work and it is widely believed that this kind of practical experience, which is an essential part of many subjects from natural sciences to vocational training, could not be provided over the internet. Overall, I would say that educational establishments should include both inline and traditional face-to-face elements in the courses they provide. In this way, students would benefit from the more personalized learning that internet courses offer without losing opportunities for face-to-face interaction with fellow students and valuable practical work.