In the past when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Back in the days, students had a tendency to study at some of the universities in their home country. However, they now have many more options regarding where to find that knowledge, and it is becoming increasingly popular to study abroad. The benefits and downsides of this development will be analyzed and discussed in this essay. Certainly, there are numerous advantages to studying in different countries. Many students chose to do this because they know that a particular university, for instance, Harvard Business school, has an excellent reputation. Graduating from here, they believe, will increase their chances of securing a decent position in a company back home. Students studying abroad also have the opportunity to form friendships with people of various nationalities, which in time, may develop into useful professional networks. Thus, better skills development and an enlarged circle of contacts are some of the merits of acquiring a degree in foreign countries. Nonetheless, the experience of studying abroad is not always a positive one. For example, recent empirical research by the US government reported that a small percentage of young people struggle to adapt to their new environment and suffer from severe cultural shock. Some of them may face mental problems because of the suffering of loneliness, and the situation can become worse if the student is not mature enough to cope with themselves. Therefore, studying in another country is potentially disadvantageous as it may lead to the occurrence of mental diseases such as depression among international students. In conclusion, having more opportunities for studying in a foreign country is a positive trend overall. This is due to the fact that people who study abroad can gain benefits in terms of academic abilities and international connections. However, as it can be mentally challenging, an open mind is the key to a good experience at a foreign university.