Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a ‘fat tax’ is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it has become quotidian to consume fast food as people are finding it easy to cook and less time-consuming. Although, this food is not always healthy as vegetables and cereals are. It can have adverse effects not only on an individual’s health but also on the society in which the person lives. The people who believe so, are arguing that government should impose a tax on such unhealthy food items. But, is that necessary? Since fast food has become widely popular, almost every restaurant or food truck serves these items at cheap prices. Most of these items contain a lot of oil, spices, sugar, and many other unhealthy ingredients. Even the ships that people consume are very harmful to one’s health as those are fried in oil and potatoes contain fat. This in turn can lead to obesity. In recent research, it is found that almost 13 percent of the world’s population is overweight. Unhealthy food has many other diverse effects on an individual’s health. Eating harmful food can lead to tooth decay which can prove to be very painful. It also causes serious health problems like high blood pressure and high cholesterol. Eating unhealthy food can be fatal in some cases as the risk of heart diseases and stroke increases because of it. On the other side, some people are demanding to impose a tax on unhealthy food items so that their consumption could be reduced. Albeit, this is not necessary and unfair to the people who are willing to consume these food items as the government has no right to decide what people should and what should they not eat. People should have the freedom to decide what they want to eat. Although, I believe that governments should spread awareness among people about the diverse effects of unhealthy food. To conclude, I believe that, the government should avoid imposing a ‘fat tax’ on unhealthy food items as it is against the freedom of people. Albeit, individuals need to control their appetite as it can lead to a maleficent effect on their health. The government should also aware people from the malevolent effects of unhealthy food.