Some people think that local councils should require people to build houses same style as the house in the same area. However, others think that councils should give people the freedom to build houses the way they like.

Thanks to the development of architecture, residents nowadays have more choices for designing their houses. However, some people suggest that citizens should be enforced to construct residences in the same style as the existing house. Others believe that populace should be free to build their houses in the way they like. Personally, i strongly agree with the later. The main reason why a number of citizens ask local authorities to force local people to build houses with a same style is its convenience to management. Same style means same structure of houses, so it is much easier to maintain and repair. For example, if something is broken down like a door or a window, instead of making an appointment with a repairman and waiting a long time, residents can directly contact local community to get instant and professional repair. However, it is unadvisable to therefore restrict residents’ freedom to construct their residencies. Firstly, in an unprecedented open society, it should be a legal right to design houses the way citizens like. Actually, i would argue that it would absolutely arouse public resentment. A house represents a home. If citizens do not like the style of their houses, they will not feel warmth anymore even though the houses can protect them from rain and wind. By contrast, if governments give their locals freedom to design residencies that they like, they will feel be valued and understood. Thus, every person feels a much stronger connection with their community, improving their sense of belonging in the society. Secondly, limiting public freedom to build houses have an adverse impact on human creativity and imagination, particularly for children. If everyone within a community can only live in a place without any discrepancy from their neighbor’s, they may gradually lose the idea that they should have resigned their houses according to their hobbies. Consequently, they will become less creative and unimaginative. In conclusion, while constructing residences in the same style may contribute to maintenance and repair, i completely disagree that local councils ought to obligate locals to do so. Every citizen has the right to build a house as they wish rather than being given an order.