INDIVIDUAL MEMBERS OF A FAMILY HAVE THEIR OWN TECHNOLOGICAL DEVICE BY WHICH THEY CAN CONTACT OTHER MEMBERS OF THEIR FAMILY. SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT THIS WILL ACTUALLY WEAKEN FAMILY RELATIONSHIPS. HOW FAR DO YOU AGREE?

Indeed, cutting-edge communication devices, such as cell phones have revolutionized the way people maintain contact each other providing tremendous ease to reach anyone regardless of the physical distance. However, some complain that as a result of these innovations the ties of kinship are increasingly eroding, with which I partially agree, as will now be examined. Without doubt, up-to-date cell phones and similar gadgets like tablets have reduced face-to-face interaction and visits between people who are related by blood. Due to the contemporary society’s tendency to opt for what is easier, people are now more likely to text or make a video call via WhatsApp or Messenger rather than pay a visit in order to have a chat with a relative who perhaps lives within walking or driving distance. Nevertheless, this type of communication is not so effective since/inasmuch as emotions are not exchanged naturally without truly being together, which means/reveals that family members are becoming less attached, or even alienated from one another over time. Admittedly, online messaging or video chat may be the best option to stay connected with family members who live far away. Obviously, not everyone can afford to embark on a long distance journey too frequently merely to meet their relatives. Thanks to the low cost of virtual communication tools, however, modern world population are obliged to text, hear and even see their close ones who they would otherwise hardly ever hear from. For example, most fathers turn out to live apart from their families so as to financially support their family budget by working abroad, notably in neighboring countries, for instance, Turkey or Russia in our country. Through electronic devices which enable people to have free contact with others, those fathers enjoy having lengthy conversation with their children and spouses. All points having been discussed, the wide availability and popularity of smartphones and other devices which allow communication tends to have a largely negative impact on the relationship between family members, yet these facilities might also prevent family bonds from fading away completely. It is therefore recommended that people not give much preference to these virtual means while they are able to meet each other.