some people think that large, impressive buildings. . .

In this day and age, more and more impressive buildings are constructed in many countries around the world. While some people thought that the goverment should invest in large structures, I believed that hospitals and schools are much more important to a country and we should pay more attention to them instead of constructing these sorts of buildings. On one hand, big, grand buildings can contribute to a city in several different ways. First of all, such a building can serve as the home of many companies and businesses of both local and national importance. Additionally, it can also hold large-scale significant functions or events such as conventions, concerts, or exhibitions that serve the needs of the community. Lastly, an impressive-looking building can become a city’s icon and tourist attraction. The Empire State Building in New York, for example, is one of the city’s tallest buildings and most famous sights, drawing millions of tourists every year who flock to visit its spectacular observation deck. On the other hand, schools and hospitals provide services that are essential to a city. Schools help educate our children whereas hospitals keep the population healthy. It is thanks to them that the populace can be productive and happy, the crimes rates remain low, and the city’s quality of life improves. All of these are only possible if enough money is invested to hire good teaching and hospital staff and provide high quality equipment and facilities. To sum up, there are tangible benefits to a city whether funding is funneled toward big buildings or schools and hospitals. In my opinion, however, whenever there are conflicting priorities, schools and hospitals should be given first consideration as they provide indispensable services.