Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside urban centers. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, many individuals assert that industries relocation to the countryside from the urban centers would be advantageous to society. In my opinion, I agree to this statement and believe their merits are far more considerate than demerits which will be highlighted in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, there are many benefits when big production plants move from metropolitan to rural areas. Primarily, shifting from places would make these corporates beneficial in terms of disposing of their waste as cities have less areas to dump junk materials in comparison with the outskirts. Not only it can reduce the various types of pollution caused in the town, but also will lead to proper disposing of waste without disturbing the ecosystem. Secondarily, people in rural areas get employment opportunities as the setup of manufacturing units requires labor for the production of goods. Thus, it can improve their standard of living along with the development of the local town. For instance, a report published by the Ministry of Industry and Commerce, India in August 2016 stated that job prospects as well as infrastructure of the local areas took a huge leap after the industries moved to the small areas from urban centers. Furthermore, congestion of open land areas has always been a headache for big corporations however, it is achievable for them in the outer areas of the cities as they have an abundance of lands that can allow them to setup big factories resulting in increasing their revenues. On the contrary, certainly there are demerits of shifting the plants to the rural areas. Firstly, production of goods can be hampered. To enhance, setting up units in the remote areas causes difficulty as the transportation facilities and availability of the raw materials are less in those areas. Not only it can reduce their efficiency, but also can degrade the prestigious name and reputation of the company. Secondly, it can lead to unemployment in the cities. To clarify, when an industry closes their operations and resettles to other remote areas, the job openings in the metro areas decline gradually. For instance, a survey conducted by the World Economic Forum in October 2018 in the USA over 500 individuals showed that over 80 percent of them became unemployed due to shifting of the companies to areas rather than cities. To encapsulate, it can be concluded that although the advantages of production units being shifted to non-metro areas are significant, their disadvantages cannot be ignored. If a balanced approach is followed in terms of providing job security and better transportation aspects of goods then companies can generate huge volumes of profits.