Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside urban centers. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The idea of relocating major businesses and industrial headquarters from the hustle and bustle of the city center to a more rural area is getting popular these days. To realize this, several points—in particular, the pros and cons—are to be taken into consideration. Nevertheless, I believe this move will be tremendously beneficial. Understandably, several aspects cause companies to be reluctant to move their headquarters to more secluded areas. For starters, the transition period will be particularly tiresome. These outskirts of town often do not have adequate infrastructures which in the end will generate unnecessary overhead expenses, such as constructing accessible main roads and public transportation. Furthermore, skilled laborers are not as easily acquired in the suburbs, which then will induce a productivity gap and liabilities. On the bright side, upsides from shifting an office base location are to be expected as well. The move of such a sizeable operation could affect the environment favorably. In the countryside, factory’s by-product wastes could be properly processed as empty and available lands are abundant. Besides, these acres of space are up for lease at a considerably low price which could compensate the initial expenditure that was spent on establishing infrastructures. Finally, it is widely known that raw materials to be produced into finished products are often sourced from towns outside metro areas. Therefore, it can be said with confidence that having a manufacturing facility located near its required resources will be advisable since this could reduce the cost of operation. In conclusion, the merits of moving a place of business to a less populous site unquestionably prevail over its drawbacks as can be seen in the positive impacts it cause on the ecosystem. Although the figure for laying ample groundwork seems extravagant at the beginning, the further budget could be minimized in the long run.