Some people think that e- books are the death of paper books while others think that paper books will never disappear. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In the contemporary era of technological growth, few people argue that the existence of paper book will be questioned due to the emergence of electronic books whereas the remaining believes that paper book will survive whatever the situation is. In my opinion, people will continue to use both the mediums in the future depending on the situation and availability. On the one hand, electronic books get prime importance of day today life due to the emergence of internet and its wide spread. All the reading materials and books are available at our fingertips on mobile phones and computers. People are attracted to eBooks because of its mobility and easiness as one need not carry the paper books all the time when they travel or not. Also all the publishers are releasing both the versions in order to accommodate both the users and hence it is easily available. Nowadays anyone can publish a book through online platforms and purchasing the same is also easy as we get the download option and thereby the tedious process of delivering the same is minimized and it is cost effective too. For instance, many online platforms like amazon and google are publishing and selling ebooks and those are easy to get by paying the amount through online payment and as soon as we finish payment those are ready to be downloaded and can be transferred to as many as devices as possible, On the other hand, whatever the inherent advantages associated with ebooks a majority of people still prefers to read the traditional paper based books over eBooks because of many reasons. First of all the health benefits attached to paper based reading as it does not give stress to our eyes and thereby eyesight and associated problems can be minimized. Secondly our parents and grand parents, who are familiar with paper book reading may tend to be offensive to modern way of reading and those who are involved in printing and publishing the books and paper will be jobless if ebooks are implemented completely. Moreover the satisfaction of holding a large amount of books in possession is a status symbol for book lovers. In short, both the mediums of reading have its own inherent advantages and disadvantages. So replacing one completely with other is not feasible and viable. So in my opinion both will go hand in hand depending on its availability and use. In certain situation paper based reading is not available; it can be replaced with e reading. For example during the pandemic time schools and colleges have opted for e learning and hence the lecture notes and materials are provided electronically where manual paper based is beyond imagination. Therefore one cannot overtake the other.