Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside large urban centers. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is important for a company to select the right location when establishing itself. While some people believe it is better for large companies and industries to relocate to regional areas, others believe they should remain in urban areas. I personally believe the former to have more benefits than the latter. To begin with, the disadvantage for a company being located in a regional area is the lack of available human resource required to run its operations. This is because regional areas usually have less people living per square kilometer compared to city centers. Therefore generally it is hard for a company to find talented people in such a handful population, which is essential for a company’s growth. Taking an example of Darwin, a regional area of Australia, where it is very challenging to find a Polymer Engineer as the total population of Darwin is just around 10, 000. This makes it difficult for an industry established there to fulfill their human resource needs. However, in my opinion there are many benefits which overcome the drawback for companies when they move from cities to regional areas. Firstly, the cost of land in a regional area is very low and for a company which could grow in the future, this could be the best financial decision as it will be cheaper for the company to expand its premises. In addition to this, it could be very beneficial for the people living nearby as well. For instance, it would better to have a chemical factory, which tends to produce different harmful gases, in a regional area rather than in an urban center. This factory will effect fewer number of people in a remote area compared to the millions living in an urban area. In conclusion, even though there is a disadvantage for companies located outside urban centers such as scarce human resource, I think it is outweighed by the advantages. These benefits include the lower cost of land and fewer number of people being effected by pollution.