Religion has been codified in the profession as a whole because of excesses of corporate greed

In conclusion, sociologists and theologists have discussed the problem of secularization until very recently. The intellectual approach in social theory about the incompatibility between rationality and religion has remained in sociology as a whole. Although sociology keeps away from examining the unexpected and non-rational human behavior, in our age, some scholars maintain to understand the effects of religious phenomena on the human mind and its intellectual development. The sociology of religion examines religion as an empirically observable social action. Religion can be applied to a sociological perspective by way of the methodology of the sociology of religion. Sociologists dealing with religion are not concerned with the problem of whether God exists or not but with religious phenomena and their effects on religion. They want to make an analysis of religion as a phenomenon thanks to the emotional distance that every scientist needs to be objective as possible as he can.