Religion has been codified in the profession as a whole because of excesses of corporate greed

Since the beginning of the scientific revolution, even if religion as a social phenomenon draws the attention of philosophers including Kant and Hegel, it has affected social theorists as a subject matter in parallel with the development of sociology. Sociologists who have contributed to the establishment of sociology as science such as Comte, Durkheim, Weber, and Marx put religion at the center of their social theories. However, the main problem of those sociologists is how religion is defined and analyzed in all its dimensions. Those theorists base their ideas on religion and specific philosophical bases. Thus, they are tried to be studied on some certain categories such as intellectualist, functionalist, and rationalist. Because, for some of them, religion is a product of an endeavor based on cognitive processes. For some others, religion is a set of practices based on an action which is preceded by cognitive processes. These general categories do not mean that all these sociologists defend that religion in a similar vein. It is obvious that they have also reached similar conclusions about the origins of religion. Therefore, it is necessary for the study to divide sociologists into three categories because of the fact that it should be studied on the basis of the results of the studies by sociologists. These categories are classified as intellectualist, functionalist, and rationalist categories. In this study, the most basic purpose to reinterpret the definitions of religion and religious beliefs from the point of sociologists mentioned above.