Some people think that it is the responsibility of governments to take care of the environment, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the citizens.

Rapid globalisation and advanced lifestyle are deeply affecting the nature. While some people believe that the public is responsible for environmental issues, others argue that civic bodies should make strict laws to keep it under control. This essay shall discuss both of these views, and why I strongly think the government will always have an edge over citizens to protect Mother Earth. There are apparent compelling reasons to believe that, citizens play a vital role in protecting the environment. One of the major issues, nowadays is, air pollution which is caused by the increasing number of cars on the roads. The PH level in the air could be decreased with coordinated action of people, if they start using communal car pooling services or shared cabs. Waste disposal is another emerging reason. Though an individual cannot force others to safeguard the nature, but he / she should take the onus of their own surroundings by making self regulations to throw waste in the dustbin and making their neighbours aware about the importance of the environment for future generations. Conversely, public bodies hold a greater duty towards environmental challenges. To begin with, the government must draft more stronger environmental laws, with heavy penalties so that large industries adhere to legal regulations. In China, for instance, industrial companies are regularly watched by their government in order to strike a balance between their business and the environment. Because of this,   such companies have mitigated the release of their hazardous chemicals into water bodies. Construction of an unauthorised large building is another rising global issue. Both the national and the state bodies must regularize and restrict the unwanted development of these buildings, especially in developing countries. To conclude, our Earth is degrading day by day. Even if the public is making continuous efforts to save the nature, the ultimate power of protecting natural resources lies in the hands of the government agencies and large industries which are toxic for the environment at large extent.