Everyday millions of tons of food is wasted all over the world. Why do you think this is happening? How can this be solved?

Food wastage has now become a big problem in many parts of the world. There are several factors that are attributable to this situation, and solution need to be adopted to combat this issue. Primarily, people have become wealthier than before. Increased personal wealth means that individuals no longer appreciate food, and tend to throw food away rather than storing it in the fridge for the next meal. Fresh vegetables, meat and fish at the supermarket are now sold at an affordable price for middle-class people, so many of them are willing to discard the food as soon as they satiate their hungry stomach. Another reason is that the food industry has been developing fast, with variety of choices and marketing techniques that encouraging food spending. Television programs are often interrupted food advertisements that are digitally altered to trigger the craving for wide range of delicious food. However, food wastage is not intractable problem. The simplest measure the government can do is to set up campaigns to raise public awareness with the aim of changing public attitudes to food consumption. The deleterious effect of food wastage on the environment should be highlighted via posters and television programs to draw the attention of the public to the problem. Also, a heavy tsx ought to be imposed on the food industry, which may causes the price of every day food to rise. In conclusion, people throw food after meal because of multifarious reasons, which requires the regime to take action to mitigate the conundrum.