Some people think that it is more important to be informed of local/national news. Other people think that it is more important to have international news.

There are conflicting views regarding whether people should put more attention on local/national news or international news. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument, followed by my own perspective on this matter. Those who believe that local/national news is more important may put forth following argument. First and foremost, being informed of local news makes life more convenient. For example, if someone needs to drive to their local suburban supermarket on weekends, he/she could probably avoid traffic congestion by planning routes beforehand if he/she receives live traffic report on radio. Another reason is that some local or national news may also enhance people’s understanding of their own country, thus improving their sense of belonging to it. In 2018, the discovery of an emperor tomb dating back to Han dynasty in Nanchang China drew huge attention across the country and people became fascinated and proud by this discovery as they have seen their country’s rich history. However, those who advocate the importance of international news also could easily justify their opinion. The primary reason is that international current affairs may broaden people’s horizons, thus enhancing their creativity. By watching the news about a cooking competition happening in Italy, Chinese might learn how to cook fishes in a different way so that they can mix the Italian recipe into their own cuisine. Also, international news tend to raise awareness of the problems we are commonly facing as human beings. For instance, Japan recently dumped the nuclear polluted water into the Pacific and it not only raised concerns about the damage to the ecosystem of the ocean but also made other countries be cautious about the potential leak of their own nuclear power stations and the impacts it could cause. In conclusion, I believe both sides have merits. On balance, it is my opinion that local/national news and international news are equally crucial. This is because it is my firm belief that they are not mutually exclusive and both news are valuable in certain cases.