Nowadays, many people live an unhealthy lifestyle. What are the reasons for this and how do we address this problem?

Today, it is very common for us to see people living unhealthy lifestyles. This essay will discuss the factors contributing to this trend, followed by measures to address this problem. This issue is caused by several reasons, but the primary reason is worklife pressure. There is no doubt that finding a decent job and securing the position has become increasingly more difficult than before and this forces many employees to work long hours to secure their position. So they can rarely squeeze in time to do exercise on weekdays, preferring to collapse in front of the TV on weekends rather than do any physical activities. Another reason that leads to an unhealthy lifestyle is the popularity of junk food. Fast food restaurants, convenience stores and online shopping have made fast food more accessible and appealing than ever before, thus attracting more people to consume them. There are several measures that can be taken to solve this problem. It is necessary for the government to create more jobs with better work-life balance so that people’s pressure in the office can be relieved, thus providing them with more free time that can be spent on participating in physical activities. Meanwhile, if there were more easy-to-find sports facilities in the community, more people would be encouraged to use them after work since they do not need to travel to a gym. Individuals should also be encouraged to learn some simple exercises which would only take 5 to 10 minutes to complete at home. As discussed above, competition at work and the popularity of junk foods are the two main reasons resulting in unhealthy lifestyles and this problem can be solved by generating more employment opportunities, constructing more sports facilities and teaching people how to perform simple exercises.