Some people think that it is beneficial for children to do paid work, while others think it can be harmful for children. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children doing paid work.

There are people who believes that allowing children to do paid work is beneficial for them, and yet, other people argue that compensated labor has detrimental effects to younger people. Although the concept of paid child labor in today’s society is a sensitive topic, this essay will demonstrate the positive and negative impacts of compensated child labor. Personal growth and development of children is one of the major advantages of being compensated for their work as paid work can also be classified as a Reward System by Psychologists in the medical child care field. Through paid labor, children are taught to be motivated to do their best, and it also teaches them the value of hard work. For instance, children are driven to do well in school because they know that they will be rewarded in a form of money or gift. Furthermore, paid work also teaches children to manage their money by spending it wisely. Young people who earns money, know the value of cash. To illustrate, when I was younger, my parents would pay me after assisting them in household chores. The money I earned would be saved in a piggy bank, and then later, it will be spent to buy some toys or books that I want. Because I was being compensated after doing a job at home, it helped me realized that I should work hard so that I can earn and save more to buy the things that I want. On the contrary, one of the disadvantages of paid work for children is their inability to focus on their school work. This is evident to children in poor countries who are working to help support their family. Children are taught that if they want to have money, they should study and get good grades. However, since they are already earning with their own cash, they would find education no longer relevant. As a result, they no longer desire to go to school neither to study as their focus now is to make money for their family. To conclude, there are benefits of children being compensated for their work as it helps them to grow personally, and they also develop the importance of hard work and value of money. Meanwhile, it can also have serious negative impact to young children especially those living in third world countries as they will lose their concentration on their education and focus entirely in earning money in order to help their families.