Some people think that international news is more important than local news. Others argue that local news is more important.

Since the Internet and big data have been developed to a higher level than ever, the accesses of any kinds of news become much easier. Some people support that international news is more vital than domestic news, while others hold a contrary view. In the following essay, both opinions will be discussed with proper examples and eventually draw a rational conclusion. On the one hand, people who believe global current affairs are more significant may argue that the correlation among countries is much closer than before. Since the World Trade Organisation (WTO) has been founded, nations across the globe are tightened by trades. Thus, it is essential for businessmen to focus on international news that can help those people to be aware of the latest information and then make decisions. One obvious example can be viewed by trades between China and Australia; as China has forbidden several Australian exports, individuals who care about international global updates can invest in those kinds of exports immediately in order to occupy more Chinese market shares and make profits. Therefore, international news is more crucial for spectators and economists, which allows them to respond quickly about universal changes. On the other hand, many still suggest that local news is more momentous because it relates to citizens more. For residents, it is not necessary for them to concern about foreign countries, instead of doing that, the local community is more worthy to consider. For instance, natural disasters, such as flooding and tsunami, a riot, and even a traffic diversion due to a construction worker, can have a great impact on one’s daily routines. Paying attention to this information can help local residents and the whole society to be prepared, which can be proved by COVID-19 period. The local news about spreads of the disease made people be more conscious and alert their lifestyles, which eventually controlled the situation well. In conclusion, from my perspective, domestic news is the most vital one, because it is closely related to our lives, while worldwide news is not necessary for everyone to concern, but I recommend everybody to pay attention to it.