In modern life, it is no longer acceptable to use animals as food or in other products, like clothing and medicine.

Nowadays, more and more people advocate stopping using animal-derived products because the production of those products can lead to serious environmental problems. While I can understand the urgency of environmental protection, it is unrealistic to ban all animal products. I can therefore only partially agree with the assertion. On the one hand, it is true that excessive demand for animal products is destroying our planet. The expansion of the livestock industry, for instance, has become one of the most important factors of global warming. Domestic animals like cows and goats, eat plenty of green plants and exhale massive amounts of carbon dioxide, which add a double burden to the whole ecosystem and drive the temperature up. Unlike over-raised livestock, wild animals are facing the threat of extinction which also has a negative impact on the environment. Wild animals like elephants and crocodiles are murdered only because their teeth or fur can be made as fancy but non-functional accessories and natural environment is damaged because of this. Therefore, this type of product should be prohibited. On the other hand, it is unrealistic to only use cruelty-free products. For example, although the number of vegans has expanded dramatically, there are still countless people who cannot live without meat. The nutritions generated by animal meat, like protein, are essential for people to improve fitness. In addition, artificial food still has lots of differences from natural meat, like the smell and taste. Therefore, it only can be used to reduce but not replace real animal meat consumption in the near future. In conclusion, to make this world a better place to live in, I agree that some animal products should not be used any more but there is still a long way to go to prohibit all of them.