Some people think that international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution, others think there are some other ways.

Nowadays, pollution is one of the greatest global complications that is growing at a rapid pace and affecting several countries worldwide. Unfortunately, according to scientists research, there is a common belief that climate change and its effects are inevitable. However, we can certainly reduce its effect on the environment, so that people can have a more sustainable life. It is a popular belief that international car-free days can successfully decrease air pollution, while others believe that there are other more effective solutions. In my opinion, I cannot deny that car-free days will contribute to a reduction of air pollution, however, I think that a combination of other solutions as well as this can result in a drastic fall in air pollution. To begin with, cars are one of the largest contributors to air contamination as it emits greenhouse gases. Moreover, cars are an everyday essential that almost everyone owns. For instance, people need cars as a form of transportation to fulfil their daily errands and to go to their respective jobs, so they can earn an income to sustain themselves. Restricting their vehicle on some occasions may become a hassle for many people which can lead to the growth of tension between the citizens and the public sector. For example, enormous crowds can start a riot among the streets that can lead to utter chaos, to send a message to the government expressing their hatred because of the lack of convenience they receive. However, people can instead depend on forms of public transport such as buses, metros and so on. The outcome of this would be that there would be less reliance on petrol, which is a fossil fuel, so the environment is thus protected. On the contrary, many active environmentalists agree that there are countless ways to reduce air contamination that countries must initiate as soon as possible. It is a known fact that manufacturing companies and their numerous factories across regions dramatically damages the environment and leads to a surge of air pollution almost every week. The government can play a significant role when it comes to this. A good illustration for this is that if governments implement strict legislation and regulations on such companies in form of heavy taxation, the factories would be more mindful of the mass amount of emissions they release into the air and look for cleaner alternatives to avoid paying excessive amounts of money. Furthermore, governments can promote ways to reduce energy consumption by encouraging as well as improving the public transport services. In conclusion, although cars significantly negatively impact the air quality in many countries all over the world, they are seen as a necessity to everyone. Therefore, I personally believe that along with car-free days, we must adopt as many other effective solutions in order to achieve an outstanding fall in the level of air pollution. Eventually, this would lead to advances in the standards of living and sustainability.