Some people think that individuals today are more dependent on each other. Others believe people have become more independent.

There many perceptions in the society regarding individualism or relying on others for various reasons. Many argue that now-a-days, people have become more independent as they get mature early, whereas some believe the dependency have increased altogether which can be in terms of seeking help or while taking crucial decisions. In this essay I will put forth both the views and finally state my point of view. On the one hand, the age factor plays an essential role in deciding whether an individual is ready to take his/her own decisions or not. For instance, a child cannot be trusted with important life decisions because it does not have enough experience and therefore, the dependency on parents is necessary. Similarly, in college, a student relies on teachers and friends in case a problem occurs in studies or while choosing a project. Hence, it can be concurred safely that dependency in these regards can be positive and proves to be beneficial to youngsters owing to their crucial age. On the other hand, as we are living in a highly progressive society, being independent has become very important, be it financially or mentally as there are certain ordeals that every individual has to pass himself. A decision of marriage for instance, is solely the responsibility of an individual because he has to get hitched with someone for life. Furthermore, choosing a career or how to spend wisely are some factors that everyone has to look into themselves because, in this fast moving world, only those are looked upon who have worked independently and differently from others. Finally, in my opinion, maturity comes with age. With this I mean that although, dependency on parents and teachers is benefiting and should be there because it helps the youngsters grow and gain experience but, after a certain age and after gathering experiences, people should be self- reliant. Sometimes there are some situations that everyone has to deal with themselves, and under those circumstances, only a person who has a stronger will and determination comes out victorious. To summarize, it is definitely a positive sign that people have become more independent because it will bring benefits to the society as a whole and I completely agree with this point of view. However, it can't be denied that dependency to some extent is acceptable because we are social animals and seeking assistance from friends and family on different issues only motivates us and makes us stronger.