Some people think that in this modern world people are getting dependent on each other, while others think the modern world makes people more independent of each other.

The world is advancing at the speed of light. While few people believe that the progress has increased the dependency on one another, others argue that it has liberated humanity and made us independent. I believe that technology has made communication easier and faster. On the one hand, Advancement in telecommunications sector has helped immensely by making communication easier and faster. A big problem of the olden days was speed as everything was very slow and time consuming. For example, a few decades back it was impossible to send a message to our beloved on the same day. We were dependant on the postal services to collect our letters and deliver it to the destination. Furthermore, there was additional dependency on the road/rail transport and would cause unwanted delays and lead to frustration. These issues are resolved with the help of technology. On the other hand, in the 20th century, with the help of latest mobile applications, you can perform a lot of the regular activities like banking, shopping and bill payments from the comfort of your home. Ordering food, for example, has become a major trend where, people place orders on the application and are dependent on the delivery agent for their meal, this was not the case earlier as people would prefer going to a restaurant and eat by themselves. This is a concerning statistic as it makes humans lazy and increasingly dependent on others. In conclusion, I would say despite the multiple distractions and drop in attention span of humans; the modern times have only made us more independent rather than dependent on people as we are able to achieve better results with less dependency.