Some people think that in order to deal with the problem of congestion in cities, privately owned vehicles should be banned in city centres, while others consider this to be an unrealistic solution.

Many people believe that introducing restrictions on personal means of transportation in the inner city can be a solution to traffic congestions, others opine that this plan is unfeasible. Both views will be discussed in this essay but in my opinion, this plan will not be workable. On the one hand, supporters of prohibiting personal vehicles may point to the reduced number of vehicles and switch to public transportation. First, the limited number of vehicles on the main routes of the cities would allow a more fluid movement of traffic. This is likely to improve the bottleneck situation, thereby, reducing traffic congestion. . Second, as private modes of transportation are restricted, there will be a shift in travel demand towards public transportation such as trains or buses. With higher capacity yet occupying less space on the road, these modes of travel can still meet the travel needs while further lowering the chances of downtown roads being clogged, especially in rush hours. On the other hand, the proposed plan will not be executed successfully due to two main reasons. First, people are entitled to use private vehicles as they pay taxes for their vehicles and maintenance of public infrastructure. Therefore, depriving them of traveling freely in the town center would likely provoke deep resentment against the authorities. Second, public transportation with fixed routed and rigid schedules might deliver a depressing and uncomfortable travel experience. Therefore, some still have a preference for personal vehicles, by which they can travel to places in the city that might be inaccessible to public transportation. In conclusion, while banning the use of personal modes of transportation can supposedly improve traffic jams in the inner city, this plan might inflame anger in the community. Instead, the government should find alternative solutions to tackle this problem