It is more important for a building to serve a purpose than to look beautiful. Architects should not worry about producing building as a work of art.

It is commonly believed that buildings should be of utilitarian nature rather than just look appealing to the eyes. However, I believe that in addition, to meeting the prime purpose which is its functionality, high rises ought to be attractive as well. If both approaches go hand with hand, we can reap the benefits of both. We usually build a high rise in order to accommodate a lot of people. To achieve this, we must utilize the space effectively and make it more secure so that it can resist the natural calamities. For instance, nowadays, most of the architecture in my country must have to pass various mandatory engineering tests, including the capacity to resist strong winds and minor earthquakes, in order to qualify for residential building. Thus, residential buildings must make use of available space efficiently and must be safe for the tenants. On the other hand, architecture is very important in modern society because it attracts a lot of visitors. In order to become commercially viable, a hotel must appeal to a lot of potential clients. For example, State of the art architectural designs in Dubai, such as Burj Khalifa, are attracting millions of customers every year. Therefore, commercial structures should exhibit modern art and unique designs in order to stimulate the interest of visitors. To conclude, while it is believed that modern buildings should be constructed on the principle of utilitarianism, I believed that the outlook of the high rise also plays an important part. I suggest that residential towers should focus more on functionality, but commercial buildings should come up with unique ideas and designs because art and beauty attract the human mind.