News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news, and would it be better if more good news was reported?

It is true that choosing a news story to widely publish on television, the Internet, or newspapers is considered the editors’ responsibility. Therefore, their choices without doubt have a great impact on society. In my judgment, I agree that bad news has been familiar to people generally so far and I would welcome a better accentuation of positive news. First and foremost, the deciding cause of choosing what news story to focus on is that producers are accountable for informing the public about important events and issues which will certainly help increase not only the community’s interest but also sales figures of the company. To exemplify, news stories on television, the Internet, and newspapers are the most accessible sources that people in Vietnam can get updated to Covid-19 vaccines to timely protect themselves and their family. Hence, editors must be aware of this situation and provide efficient and beneficial news in order to make a decisive contribution to the recognition of vaccination. Contrary to aforementioned beliefs, there are numerous pessimistic stories on television and newspapers every day. It is justifiable that people are exposed to a daily basis story about a plethora of bad news about crime, disasters, political debate, and so on. Such continual stories may desensitize people, which enables the possibility for them to be cynical and skeptical that they can do anything to change it for the better. These shows, consequently, can be counterproductive. Furthermore, good news undeniably offers people an optimistic lifestyle. One case in point is that instead of showing disasters and a vast number of people have died in the central of Vietnam, charity activities and people who volunteer to help in their communities should be put on priority. This would put the audience in a better position to give a hand to the adversity and provide an incentive to the others. The eventual outcome could create solidarity in the nation. On balance, although deciding which stories should be viral is undoubtedly difficult, there should be more positivity supplied by the news editors so as to create a mentally healthy lifestyle.