Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent.

Some people are of the opinion that modernization has made us more reliant on each other. However, some others are opposed to this idea, claiming that we are more stand on our own feet and free from dependency on others as time has progressed. Individually, I believe that this is a matter to be debated in light of several factors before any conclusion can be drawn. On the one hand, it is generally believed that the more difficult and expensive life is, the less self-sufficient we are. This is mainly because the cost of living such as education tuition, house, and daily commodities has dramatically increased day by day, so we need to depend on our parents to have those needs fulfilled until we get a job. Furthermore, since our jobs are becoming more complicated and specialized, teamwork and collaboration among different departments are more important than individual accomplishments. To put it simply, there are a several reasons connected with the reliance on each other in recent years. On the other hand, it is factual that the breakthrough in technology has led to many people rely on machines more than they depend on each other. Specifically, online services allow people to access everything and make it possible to resolve problems without seeking support from others. Besides that, families are becoming smaller and more dispersed, which means that people cannot count on relatives as much as they used to and tend to live far away from our home towns. As a prime example, many students choose to study abroad instead of going to their local university, and this experience makes them more independent as they learn to live alone. For the reasons mentioned above, while there are some reasons to believe that people now depend on each other more, it seems to me that we are more independent than ever.