some people think that in order to deal with the problem of congestion in cities, privately owned vehicles should be banned in city centers, while others consider this to be an unrealistic solution. discuss both sides and give your opinion

Nowadays, some of the people are of the view that the private cars should be banned in the urban areas to curb the issue of traffic jams. However, others think that it is not the logical solution. In my opinion alternate strategies should be adopted to mitigate the traffic congestions. The use of self-owned motors should be stopped to control traffic issues in center of the city. During the office and school going hours majority prefer to travel in their own cars that results in a drastic increase in a number of vehicles during peak hours whereas, the capacity of roads and lanes in center of urban areas are not adequate to deal with huge traffic. For instance, in Karachi the private vehicles increased two fold in last decade and consequently citizens have to face traffic issues on daily basis. In my opinion stopping the use of private vehicles will result in more difficulties. Banning private vehicles is not the permanent solution. Many people live in sub-urban areas and for their daily commutes they use their own private cars to reach for their work and daily business therefore, stopping the use of self-owned motors will increase their problems due to the absence of alternate means of travels. However, if the government ensure the alternate transport facilities such as shuttles, bullet trains and encourage the use of bi-cycles and bikes; this will surely make positive impact on the traffic issues of the mega cities. For example, in Taiwan the use of bicycles are encourage for the daily commutes and separate sidewalks have been provided for this purpose. I believe that the best way to mitigate traffic congestion is to adopt the alternative strategies to facilitate the people. In nutshell, stopping the use of private cars does not solve the traffic problems from grass root while if the other ways of travelling will be promoted this will bring positive results in long term.