In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

The idea of old-age homes is becoming moderately popular these days and majority of Britain's old population are going to these homes where they are taken great care by the nurses. Though the payment for this hospitality is made by the government sometimes yet it is a debatable topic as to whether the family or the government should pay for it. In my opinion, the payment for the care depends on two important factors and it should be accordingly decided on who needs to pay for it. The first deciding factor is whether the person has a family or not. In case he/she has a family then the money for the care should definitely be provided by his/her family otherwise the money should be provided by the government. For example, if an old person, who doesn't have anyone to look after, they will for obvious reasons turn to the government to help them out. The other deciding factor is if the family of that old person can afford to pay for these homes. In such cases, if the family is poor then the government should try to make majority of the payment and if required even the entire payment. For instance, poor people who are not even able to afford their basic needs but want their ailing parents to be taken care of need the utmost help from the government. In summary, these care-homes for the old people are being well maintained and someone needs to provide the money for the maintenance, for the salary of the nurses, and for the medicines. Thus, it is important that the government steps in to make the payment in cases where either the person doesn't have a family or the family isn't capable enough to afford these facilities.