Some people think that imprisonment is the best way to deal with criminals.

It is often believed that the best way to punish offenders is a prison sentence. Although I understand that imprisonment can have certain positive effects on criminals, I would argue that this is definitely not the optimal approach to deal with them. On the one hand, I think it is reasonable that a prison sentence is an effective way of treating criminals. Firstly, it is true that imprisoning the offenders can mean removing a threat from the society. Incarcerating these law breakers may prevent them from committing further crimes, and it also can make them lose the competence to be involved in any crimes by the time they are released; which means prisons effectively stop their unlawful activities. According to data collected by the Vietnam Ministry of Public Security, over half 70% of ex-convicts never committed crime again within 5 years after being released. Secondly, another argument in favor of this is that the criminals’ custodial sentences may satisfy the society’s and the victim’s desire for retribution. The fact that the criminals have to forfeit their freedom is certainly a way to ease the victim’s anger and wish for revenge; otherwise, they might seek revenge by illegal means. On the other hand, I would say that there are similarly practical alternatives to imprisonment. First, the government can invest in an educational program to correct the convicts’ anti-social thinking and behaviours. This program can persuade the wrongdoers crime committers to give up their wrong intentions at will, thus more effective than any deprivation of freedom. A group of social scientists from the US has been developing and testing such a program and reported a positive result of over 80% chance of success. In addition, a financial punishment might prove more effective than prison sentences for white-collar crimes. Many of these crimes are motivated by the pursuit of status and wealthmoney, thus the loss of such privilege and possessionsthings may be an implicit discouragement for potential criminals in this field. area. In conclusion, while I accept that custodial sentences produce fruitful results in preventing crimes, I believe that this is not the best option. Though it can save the society from a threat and compensate for victims, I think special educational programs and financial penalties can also be just as helpful.