Balance: Sports, Leisure and Stress Management.

Balance comes through, considering all aspects of life: relationships, work, study, health and emotional wellness. According to the analysis “College Students: Mental Health Problems and Treatment Considerations” done by the US National Library of Medicine, 64% of American students have mental issues of stress, only 11% of students sleep well. People think that fitness is lifestyle; there is no definition, everything we do is part of our lifestyle. This refers to our daily behaviors, defined as “a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being” (World Health Organization 1986). There are many factors involved, like health: mental, physical, emotional; environment, etc. The balance in a students' life is vital for a better development, to achieve it is necessary to know three main things. Stress is considered as a negative feeling, but it can also be due to positive situations in people’s life such as being accepted at college, buying a car, receiving a promotion, among others. In the same way, stress is not always a product of external factors. Students commonly start previewing situations of their lives and they get worried about something that may or may not happen; what causes stress depends in part on the perception of it, despite this, the student's stress is mainly caused due to school and the restless needs that could bring: financial preoccupations as one of the leading causes, doubts of their future, finding a job, social pressure, among others. Keeping active is one way to relieve stress and start to feel better. Regular exercise improves the mood and serves as a distraction from worries. Exercise and sports stimulate brain chemicals, one is endorphins, that cause happiness, relax and reduce the anxiety. Most people feel better about their appearance and themselves when they do exercise regularly, which boosts confidence and improves self-esteem. It also helps to prevent and manage health problems including: anxiety, depression, and more. The schools that promote sports among students are a good option, which makes it easier to have it as part of your daily routine. Likewise, students have to be aware of exceeding their limits; when people surpass their capacity, exercising is harmful. Leisure time is a good option to not force one's body. Leisure was defined as time free from the demands of work or duty, when one can rest, enjoy hobbies, and do activities that are not related with obligation or needs. Rest is an important part of training. It allows the body to recover for the next workout. When people do not get enough rest, the body gets poor performance and health problems. When students use positively their leisure time they develop skills, they get to know themselves better, socializate, reduce stress and consequently they have a better academic performance, but if students use it negatively they will be in situations like: stress, limited skills and social isolation. To create a balanced life is necessary to organize and distribute the time in activities such as: leisure, study, sports and probably the most important, learn how to manage stress. It is a fact that everybody is capable of handle their own minds, thoughts, actions, reactions, including stress. Therefore, students are capable of managing their time, it gets harder when they enroll in college, but techniques such as setting priorities could make it easier and bearable.