Some people think that illegal Internet downloads are having a negative effect on the music industry. Others feel that they have little or no impact on artists. ylbg

Opinions are divided on whether the illicit download of musical data from various internet platforms exerts detrimental effects on the music industry, or whether it is harmless to different artists. I vociferously stand with the former view. It is often argued that artists will not be financially affected by illegal downloads on the internet. This is largely attributed to extended internet coverage over the public. As with the internet massive numbers of people are downloading songs online, artists would gain fame and in turn, it would make them available to sing these songs around the world touring. Consequently, all their investment that is lost from this illegitimate downloading would be covered or even exceeded by the revenue from the ticket sales on the tour. To illustrate, the popular UK pop band earned a huge amount of money by touring. Thus, it makes no sense for some to believe artists' interest could be hurt by illegal music downloads. However, I vehemently believe that the illegal downloading of a variety of music genre tend to damage the music industry in many ways, but especially in terms of copyright and financial growth. With regard to the former, people who have an internet connection may have access to all kinds of music, commonly through YouTube, and also can easily download them using torrent search engines or downloading software. This leads to copyright infringement, resulting in the loss of a company’s musical data. The other major drawback of the same is that the company has to go through severe financial repercussions because people will prefer to easily download songs using illegal means rather than buying it, which can lead to reduced revenue and increased overall expenses. As a result, a musical production house might go under debt. In conclusion, despite having little to none downsides for some, I believe that illegal downloading of songs is utterly harmful to the music industry concerning copyright and financial losses.