Some film companies spend millions of dollars on the production of a single movie. Is it necessary to spend a lot of money to make a good movie? What factors contribute to the success of a movie?

Watching a good movie is one of the major source of entertainment of many people from different section and class of the society because of it's varity and easy accessibility. Because of the rapidly increasing audience and popularity, film producing companies do not mind in spending millions of dollars for the making of a movie. If we consider film industries of India and North Korea the money is not that much as compared to western film industries but it is booming massively. But because of the worldwide audience and quality content most of the Hollywood and western movies have a budget of multi-million dollar. for example the Oscar wining movie Gravity, that had a bigger budget than many of the progressing country's GDP. Today, the film makers are trying their best to make the movies as close to the reality as possible that's why they are not hesitating in spending big amounts in creating large sets accurately reflecting any historical figure or place, taking leverage of the artificial intelligence to make fictional characters and not to mention in promotion and marketing of the movie and so many things which makes movie making a long and expensive venture. Of course it varies with the genere in which the movie belongs to. But these movies are performing quite well in the box office and generating gross of multiple times of their budget like the movie "Avatar" the highest grossed movie of all time that produced $900 mn world wide, 20 times its original budget. But it is not always the case as some movies fail to perform. But in cases of nations like India or Egypt where, a very large portion of the population are still living in poverty and are deprived of the basic human needs, spending of millions of dollars in producing movies sounds a bit absurd. But also millions of people who are associated with various things such as costume, animation, sound, graphics and many more who earn their bread and butter from this. For a movie to become successfull, a lot of factors are need to be taken care of. From story to casting to music to promotion they all play significant role in the success or failure of a movie and it demands a decent budget and constant effort of a lot of people associated with it. As long as a movie is doing good business and getting appriciation from audiance, the producers or the producing companies are not worried about investing big money on it. And it is not a bad thing as well, If we consider the factors such as providing jobs to people and adding on to the revenue of the govt.