Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad.

In recent years, there was a controversy about the role of international sports events. While somebody believes those events play a vital position, others think that are redundant. In my opinion, I agree with the former view. Below discussion will give several causes supporting my perspective. On the one hand, some people hold the view that organizing worldwide matches is not useful and, more strictly, can lead to negative consequences. It is easy to see that coordinating a large scale event may spend too much not only money but also force of workers. Moreover, the government has to guarantee the security system during the span of hosting time. Conversely, many conflicts and violent incidents made by the extreme supporters can injure both normal fans and themselves. On the other hand, people can not nullify the benefits of international sport event that overwhelm its drawbacks. Firstly, facing foreign teams, especially the stronger enemies, creates the rare occasion for athletes assessing and improving their skills. Secondly, the residents can illustrate their patriotism and strengthen national unity. For example, the glorious victory of the national football team in the 2018 Asian Cup exaggerates significantly the national pride of Vietnamese people. Lastly, the authority and local tourism companies can take advantage of the effect of worldwide matches in order to advertise their culture to the international community. In conclusion, the above mentioned facts have created a dilemma when people evaluate the impact of this issue, and it is still a controversial problem. However, I put more emphasis on the idea that hosting an international sport event brings a couple of positive aspects to the country.