Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad.

Nowadays, people are coming to believe that hosting an international sports event is good for their nation, while others have views that speak otherwise. I am of the opinion that hosting an international sports event, is very progressive for a country, and that they should in fact be pro-active in promoting such events. An affair of such scale as an international sports event can really bring in a lot of international media attention to the host country. Not only will it encourage the local sport's unions and committees, but it will also bring in a fair deal of recognition amongst the international sports community. It can also create awareness about sports as a viable career option. Undoubtedly, it will help many second and third-world countries gain confidence. However, hosting a crowd from multiple nationalities demands good infrastructure and amenities to be sufficiently available. It could just be a matter of planning for some countries, whereas for others it could mean a hefty investment. While wanting to make their international presence more prominent, several second and third-world countries could lose their motivation to other priorities. Another opinion that could be gathered from people is to rather hold an international science expo than a sports event, as science is a more stable field. Nonetheless, moving towards progression with that mindset would not be ideal. In conclusion, hosting an international sports event could prove to be extremely useful for a country, bringing it prosperity and recognition. As such, there is nothing detrimental in the process. Despite some financial setbacks and regressive mindsets, I believe that by all means, a nation should give it all to hosting an international sports event.