Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Today more and more people do sport. Many people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Let us consider some pros and cons of it. One of the benefits of holding international sports competitions is the maintenance of friendly relations between countries. I think that it helps to build relationships, to support each other. Another good thing about hosting an international sports event is the development of physical education and sport at the international level, as the development of these areas is one of the priorities of social policy of the states. For example, the Olympic Games help people from different countries to get to know each other, culturally and mentality improve. On the basis of them there are strong friendly ties between people of different nationalities. On the other hand, it is a great economic loss for the country. States allocate huge sums of money for these activities. Some people think that these finances can be allocated for more necessary things for the population. But I personally am more inclined to the opinion that holding international competitions is important and necessary to support the economy and politics of the country. Considering the above, we conclude that sport plays an important role in creating and stabilizing an atmosphere of peace, mitigating, and managing conflicts, and fostering peace and friendship among nations.