Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

We can see that in the contemporary society being self-employed is becoming more and more prevalent. I consider that this situation is a result of development of communication and digital technologies and disadvantage of the tendency is that it can cause instability. Integrating in every part of our life, advanced technologies simultaneously changed peoples treat to labor. To put it more simply, the invention of some devices created new and sometimes more convenient approaches to making money. Let us to take the case of websitedevelopers, most of whom work as freelancers working on projects from one country while living on the other side of the world and cases likes these multiplied by several times as the mentioned technologies were invented and developed. As it can be seen from the example, evolution of technologies made self-employment a common situation. However, while being quiet attractive, self-employment’s feature is absence of stability in terms of earnings. To be more precise, fixed level of income doesn’t exist for this group of people, which means that they cannot forecast their future profit and, subsequently, they frequently meet financial issues. For instance, providers of financial services avoid giving loans topeople with not stable income. To conclude, advancing electronic technologies played the main role in making self-employment popular among people. Although, this process lead to the growth of people facing financial difficulties.