Most people do not care enough about environmental issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental issues have been the headline of many media around the globe. Pollution of different forms, global warming, deforestation has all been sky-rocketing in recent years at an alarming rate. In my profound opinion, although many internet articles, sideline, and mainstream media has tried to create awareness about these issues, people have been neglecting the significance of these issues. However, there are many individuals and NGOs who have dedicated their lives to protect and fight against the causes of environmental issues and their consequences. On one hand, different kinds of people have been neglecting the alarming issues of the environment for different reasons. Educated people who typically live in cities lead a busy life, and issues regarding nature and the environment are not among their priorities. Since the consequences of such issues are usually long term and don't affect a busy individual on a daily basis, they do not tend to address them. As studies revealed, global warming is at an alarming rate. This has caused the melting of icebergs in Antarctica leading to high temperatures across the globe. However, it doesn't affect people living in cold places at least until a century from now. As a consequence, people do not assign priority to this problem. Unfortunately, most people in the world are this way. On the other hand, many powerful individuals and NGOs have been raising awareness and running campaigns across the world to help people understand that the issues regarding the environment are serious. For instance, Leonardo who is a Hollywood actor has been running multiple non-profit organizations that focus on addressing environmental issues, and many followers who believe in his cause have been supporting him. Unfortunately, this is not enough. To conclude, although there are few people and organizations who have committed to protect and avoid potential harm to the environment, there are far more people who do not address it, or are not even aware of it. In addition to this, even the Governments of different nations are equally accountable for these issues, if not more. Hence, I strongly believe that at least 95% of the world's population close their eyes in front of the alarming issues surrounding the environment. If people continue to be irresponsible this way, our future generations will be suffering the consequences.