Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

Some citizens believe that for their country to be the host and the home of an international sports event whereas another group of people are proud of that and think that it is a great opportunity for their nation to host such famous events. Although there are some drawbacks for hosting and international event, there are still plenty of pros that come of it and I personally support the idea that such events shall prosper the nation. To begin with, as I said earlier that a group of people consider that it is a bad thing for their country to host an international sports event for some reasons. Firstly, they consider that due to the huge expenditures reserved for such events, other services offered by their government will be ignored. For example, owning to the fact that the governments concern will be mainly on these events, the medical and social services will be disregarded. In addition to that, they believe that such events could cause an imbalance in the financial and economical situation of the country. On the other hand, I personally believe that it is a great thing for my country to host an international sports incident due to the fact that such events will be monitored by the eyes of the entire world which in turn shall make our country more famous. Moreover, hosting such events form a gateway for us to present our culture and traditions for incoming tourist form all over the world. For instance, South Africa presented an amazing traditional show before the Word Cup it hosted in 2010. Finally, although those events would cost the country a lot of money yet no doubt, if such events were successful, the incomes will exceed the outcomes. To conclude, no doubt that such events have some cons nonetheless the pros are far more superior and for me I consider it as an honor for my country to host an international sports event.