Some people say that the bicycles are a good, modern means of transportation. Other say riding a bicycle has clear disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Some people believe that bicycles are an adequate, recent method for transporting people; while, others reject this notion due to the obvious drawbacks of riding a bicycle. Although it is widely believed that using bicycles is a beneficial way of transportation, in my point of view disadvantages of riding bicycle outweigh advantages. There are different benefits with using bicycles. Firstly, riding a bicycle is a great cardiovascular exercise which can be helpful for being in fit. Riding bicycles on a daily basis can improve overall health especially in elderly. Secondly, using bicycle help reduce a substantial amount of carbon dioxide emission, as a cause of an immense number of problems such as global warming, which produced by burning fossil fuels by cars. As a result, bicycles constitute a striking greenhouse-gases-free way of transportation these days. On the other hand, there are several disadvantages with bicycle riding which exceed advantages. Health protection is an important issue which is really difficult to tackle. Even wearing a helmet, cannot preserve from injuries due to the unprotected parts of the body. It is noticeable that the closure of bicycle lanes and other motorized vehicles have a strong correlation with the rate of road accidents. Due to higher speed of cars, there is a good possibility for car-bicycle accidents and the solution (like constructing disparate roads) might be a bit expensive. In addition, weather condition may be a major problem for bicycle riders especially the ones who live in rainy places. In conclusion, despite the great number of bicycle riding benefits, in my point of view there are more disadvantages which affect rider’s health.