reducing global environmental damage should be handled by government rather than individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It cannot be denied that governments should handle reducing global environmental damage. Yet, I strongly believe it is a job that needs collaboration between both governments and individuals to achieve the maximum benefit. In this essay I will discuss the previously mentioned topic briefly. It is obvious that governments can play a much more active role in addressing and minimizing the impact of environmental damage which is destroying our ecosystem. They surely have wider access in regulating companies to adhere to environmental policies and are able to make advantage of innovative technologies such as garbage utilization. Garbage pollution for instance, has become a very serious environmental threat in the majority of countries today. It caused water contamination and air pollution as well, due to the increasing number of dumping sites and the odors spreading in the surrounding areas. Governments, in this light, can explore various types of ways to minimize the adverse effects of this pollution to the environment. On the contrary, it is thought that individuals involvement can produce more in reducing the harmful effects on the environment. Humans greatly contribute to damage the nature’s balance by continuously abusing coral reefs and cutting trees for example, thus our individual action towards protecting our environment has a huge impact. However, today individuals’ action is not enough to face this fast accelerating problem. In summary, controlling the environmental damages in a global scale involves mass participation that a government can effectively lead. Individuals should take steps into reducing their damage and helping governments fulfilling their plans.