Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad.

In this day and age, there is an array of intense debates all over the world discussing whether helding an international sports event exerts a beneficial or detrimental effect on a country. The proponents, as well as the bitter opponents provide well-founded arguments in regard to this question. In this essay, light will be shed on this wide-ranging issue and my point of view will be given at the end. To begin with, running an international sports event in the country has several merits. One of them is the tourism development. Since numerous spectators come to see the marvelous perfomances of the event, they often tend to stay at the country for some other days to see the most popular attractions and destinations of the city. Moreover, the international sports events are highly likely to trigger the desire of the guests to do sports. For instance, as Kazakhstan hosted the winter universiade in 2018, it engaged plenty of citizens to try them in various winter sports, such as snowboarding, ice skating and so on. However, hosting an international sports event may have a negative effect on the country. First and foremost, running a mass scale event means there are lots of fundings needed. Renting or constructing a buliding, preparing it for guests, recruiting staff memebers for an upcoming event - all of this requires sizeable monetary funds. Furthermore, it is common knowledge that crowded places are really appealing to the terrorists, so the safety of people on such events is often under threat. In the last analysis upon balance, the following inference could be made that running an international sports event has both logical upsides and downsides. Personally, I would rather be on the side of the supporters of this, since the advantages I have mentioned above, such as tourism and sports development, overweigh the possible disadvantages.