Now-a-days people use social media to keep in touch with others and be aware of the news. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

As the world has become a global village, social media connected the villagers living in. Presently, people utilise the services of social media platforms to stay connected with other and keep themselves updated of what is happening around. Emerging social media platforms resulted in easy connectivity and business networking whereas detrimental effects can be observed in tems of addicition of surfing and reduced in-person meetings. At on point of time, people use postal services or trunk calls to stay in touch with peers, acquaintences. This process suffered with delays, laches and loss of communication, which eventually led to the emergnce of social media. Social Media was previously used by army personnels and executives to convey messages quickly; however, this technology was soon introduced for general public which has revolutionarized the ease of connection. People make video calls, share messages to stay in touch with people who were with them back then. While images, videos are shared to share their experiences. Further, if anyone needs the services of a doctor, all they have to do is post a message publically that will connect them to the concerned person for buiness or personal interaction. Thereby, social media has offered ease of connection, and enhanced business and personal opportunities. On the other hand, continuous use of social media platforms has caused addiction in people. Social media platforms like facebook, instagram are designed to attract people and serves with content of their desire, due to which people can barely keep of off their phones for even a minute. In addition, people now avoid social gatherings, physical presence, because it is belived by them they keep seeing them all the time and neglect in-person meetings. Consequently, humans are turning home sick and lazy. In conclusion, social media has boosted the people’s connection and businesses which has resulted in greater gains. However, just because it made people unsocial and lazy, is not enough to put ban on such platforms. I believe that the benefits it concur should be kept in mind and disadvantaged could be worked of.