Improving living conditions within society is a far superior approach to crime prevention that the threat of punishment.

A creation of safe, democratic and crime-free society is assumed to be a major concern for most of the governments. While this is true, approach of achieving crime prevention is a highly argued and discussed topic. It is thought that the conservative way of crime punishing will prevent people from offending the law. However, others disagree, claiming that not the threat of punishment but a number of various social and environmental improvements will reduce the crime level. This essay will support this point by overlooking the reasons of criminality and discussing the effects of improved conditions. It is undeniable that the majority of crime committers are from the unfavorable life conditions and experience a range of various problems. These people are driven by a motive of changing current circumstances when violating the law. Financial difficulties, inability to reach a sufficient medical care, homelessness -are the most common reasons that force people to commit crimes such as theft or pickpocketing for example. A change in the structure of governmental benefits should be done in order to ensure this type of crime is prevented and eliminated. What is more, educating people might be a long-term solution for crime prevention. Developing an idea of respecting others among people, providing them with professional education opportunities might majorly improve the level of crime. What is more, improvements in terms of security service and infrastructure buildings might also facilitate a goal of establishing a safer society. A good example for this would be installing CCTV cameras that might contribute a lot to tracking crime committing intentions or simply improving street lightning system that will make it safer to be outside at night. Additionally, a crime level could be reduced by increasing the influence of law enforcement agencies within the country that are responsible for identifying the aspects of crime and minimalizing the damage. Nevertheless, it is widely agreed that crime punishments are an important part of litigation. Even though the prerequisites for the crime could be caused by a number of life circumstances, violators of the law should be obliged with a proper punishment or a prison sentence. The society could hardly function without any restrictions as in some cases the law is offended intentionally. In conclusion, a crime prevention could mainly be achieved with the number of various improvements in both social and environment fields and is likely a long-term solution for crime reduction. However, it is important to have punishments prescribed by law.