Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad.

There is an ongoing debate among a number of people who believe that hosting international sports can be detrimental to a country versus another group of people who think it can be beneficial. I will discuss my support for the latter statement given the cultural and economic contributions that can bring to one country. Those who believe that hosting a sports event is prejudicial might argue that it could attract a dangerous amount of foreign people with little respect for the country they are visiting. For instance, a number of disruptions have been reported in the last games that were hosted in South America by European tourists who vandalized archaeological remains in Peru. In addition to these damages, the country expends a great quantity of money during all the organization that could be directed towards other important funds such as education and health. Despite the cons, I believe, there are tangent benefits that we would miss if we do not host these types of events. One of these benefits is tourism and the succes and support it gives to small businesses that otherwise would not be noticed. The government usually fails to provide funds to boost some startup companies. However, this activity will provide them with better opportunities to strenghten their international relations. This will give them the possibility of expanding their businesses as well as to perform import and export activities with reduction in taxes and the option to offer better deals to their customers. In summary, even though there are dangers related to accepting tourists into the territory, from my point of view, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages by bringing more opportunities to the economy of a country.