As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people travelling, there is a growing demand for more flights. What problems does this have on the environment? What measures could be taken to solve the problem?

At present, traveling by airplane is more prevalent as a result it makes the high demand of flights. In response to this phenomenon, the essay will provide the principal problems of the issues on the environment, and propose the main solution for this. First, the increasing number of flights would threaten public health due to the serve air pollution. To specific, the airplane powered by fossil fuels which emit toxic gases such as fine particulate matter and nitrogen dioxide in the atmosphere. Those gas as known cause detrimental effects on public health. According to the extensive research conducted by Harvard University in 2020, the number of flights in Beijing increased by double times in 2019 and led to the percentage of patients hospitalized by air pollution surged 1. 5 times compared to the previous years. Therefore, public health should be considered in the landscape of the tourism development and flights requirement. One effective solution for the phenomenon could be eco-friendly initiatives for airplanes. Some eco-friendly initiatives such as using high-efficiency motors or clean energy in order to reduce the total emission of toxic gases. The comprehensive survey utilized by the United States Environmental Protection Agency in 2018 reported that the annual total emission of carbon dioxide rose solely by 0. 5% over the nation due to applying state-of-the-science motors for airplanes, but the number of flights was the same as those in 2017. In short, eco-friendly initiatives should be implemented to mitigate the air pollution problems owing to the upward trend of flights. In conclusion, in the context of airline traveling trends, it could be one of the problematic issues on the environment; however, the issue could be effectively solved by applying the environmental-friendly techniques on airplanes.