Some people think that high school students in Vietnam should be required to study less than 5 subjects instead of the traditional 13. Do you agree with this idea?

In my opinion, reducing the amount of subjects from 13 to 5 is necessary. First of all, it is true that eliminating unnecessary subjects enables pupils to focus on subjects they love. If students are allowed to study only 5 subjects on the curriculum, they can concentrate on subjects that they find interesting and learn them with enthusiasm. For example, those who are into natural science, they can take out social science subjects such as history and geography from their lesson plan and focus on mathematics, physics and chemistry. This can relieve students stress and make school a much more pleasant and comfortable environment for learning. Furthermore, It cant be argued that limiting subjects enhances academic performance. Studying multiple subjects may make students confused, and it would become even more challenging specially for those who dont do well at school since not all the subjects are related to each other. Specializing few subjects offers students a chance to study in depth and become expert in them. Moreover, most of the subjects become unhelpful and perhaps impractical after we graduate and go to work.