Some people think that having a set retirement age (e. g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

A section of society believes that fixed retirement age for all, nonetheless the occupation, is unreasonable. I strongly agree with this argument. Over the course of this essay, I will provide reasons for such agreement and will also discuss categories of professionals who could benefit from early retirement. There are various reasons why people believe that flexible retirement age is necessary. Primary reason is that occupations which require great physical and mental strength are susceptible to huge stress and physical injuries. Therefore people in such occupations should be allowed to retire early with full benefits. Decisions like these will help people in such professions to live a healthy life. Another reason is that some jobs demand highest level of skill sets. For example, sportsmen and athletes are required to perform consistently and remain at the pinnacle of their skills throughout their career. With age creeping in, reflexes become weak and legs start to tire. Therefore it is important that such professionals, who have brought laurels for the country be allowed to retire with benefits and give way to young blood. When it comes to retirement, one size fits all is a utopian and should be seriously reconsidered. There are two types of workers who would benefit from early retirement. One section of workers are those whose job demands great physical strength and agility at all times. For example, army men and sportsmen who need to be at the top of their game throughout their career. Another section would be workers who are under constant mental pressure. Jobs that are mission critical such as air traffic control demand superior mental agility and alertness. Consequently such jobs take a toll on people’s mental health. Therefore it is necessary to provide early retirement options to such professionals. Having considered a range of arguments, I have concluded that flexible retirement age is a practical and sensible idea. From professions ranging from physical strength to mental agility, early retirement benefits both the organisation and the individual; a win win situation for all.