Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important.

It is considered by some that the best way to secure a job is through completion of university education, while there are others who think that it is best if one has acquired experience and soft skills. Although it is important to get a university degree to qualify in a job, I believe it is equally important to possess the experience and soft skills the job demands to have. One of the most essential requirements of several companies are looking for is to have a bachelor’s degree relevant to the position an applicant is applying for. Time and time again, it has been proven that a post graduate or bachelor degree is vital in one’s career progression as it makes you one step ahead from the rest of the applicants. In addition, tertiary education helps you to obtain advance technical skills and theoretical knowledge that is not immediately being taught in the workplace. To illustrate, academic knowledge from reputable universities are one of the main criteria for many multi-national companies who prefer to hire employees based on the selected number of universities. On the other hand, strong work experience and acquired soft skills are also important to be hired in a job. Several recruiters in big companies are not only looking for employees that are good technically, but also someone who possesses practical knowledge about the industry and knows how to work well with people. As such, In job search engines like LinkedIn, a plethora of job listings have posted about qualities of potential employees that they are looking for which usually includes good leadership skills, able to work in a team, client-oriented, etc. This only proves that numerous employers are now searching for potential employees that are not only strong in technical skills, but also holds strong soft skills that can be valuable in a company. Therefore, In my opinion, I believe that university education, soft skills, and work experience are all essential in getting hired for a job position. One must have technical skills and theoretical knowledge that can only be taught in universities, but at the same time, it is also correspondingly vital that a person must be knowledgeable about the industry and nature of the job which can only be acquired through experience. And lastly, the applicant must also possess the soft skills required in order to meet the demands of the job.